
14B NCAC 15B.0228  KEG PURCHASE-TRANSPORTATION PERMIT 
 

 
 
(a)  Retail Permittee to Issue.  Whenever a person chooses to purchase and transport a keg designed to hold and 

dispense 7.75 gallons or more of malt beverages, the person shall apply to the retail permittee from whom such 

purchase will be made for a Keg Purchase-Transportation Permit.  The retail permittee from whom the keg is 

purchased shall issue the purchaser such permit following the guidelines of G.S. 18B-403.1. 

 
(b) Form.  The Keg Purchase-Transportation Permit shall be on a printed form and shall specify the following 

information on the face of the permit: 

 
(1) Date of issue; 

(2) Name and address of the retail business from which the purchase is made; 

(3) Purchaser’s name, address, and driver’s license, North Carolina ID, Military ID or passport number; 

(4) Address of destination of keg(s); 

(5) Total number of kegs purchased; 

(6) Underage responsibility warning; and 

(7) Signatures of the purchaser and an authorized retail employee. 

 
The form shall state that the retailer shall retain a copy of the permit at the retail location where the purchase was 

made for 90 days unless requested by any individual in writing to the retailer to retain the copy for a specified period 

longer than 90 days but not longer than 180 days.  The form shall contain a statement that the permit shall 

accompany the keg during its transport and usage and shall be exhibited to any law enforcement officer upon 

request. 

 
(c) The Commission shall provide Keg Purchase-Transportation Permits on printed forms to any retailer who 

requests such permits.  Permittees may also download a copy of the Keg Purchase-Transportation Permit from 

the Commission’s website (www.abc.nc.gov).     

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-207; 18B-403.1;   
   Temporary Adoption Eff. December 1, 2006; 
   Eff. November 1, 2007; 
   Amended Eff. December 1, 2012; 
   Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02S .0237 Eff. August 1, 2015; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. August 20, 
2016. 
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KEG PURCHASE-TRANSPORTATION PERMIT 
 

Date of Issue*:  ______________________ 
 
Business Name:  ______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Business Address:  _________________________________  City:  ______________________  State:  ________ 
 
 
Name of Purchaser:  __________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Address of Purchaser:  ________________________________  City: _____________________  State: ________ 
 
Identification Number:  ______________________________      State of Issue: _____________ 
(Acceptable forms of ID are a driver’s license, North Carolina or military ID or passport) 
 
Destination of Keg(s):Address:  ________________________________  City: __________________  State: ____ 
 
 
Total Number of Kegs Purchased: ___________                     
 
 
Purchaser must initial and sign below: 
 

1. I understand and acknowledge that it is unlawful to provide alcoholic beverages, including the contents of 
the keg that I am purchasing, to any person under the age of 21. _______ (Initial) 

2. I understand and acknowledge that I could be imprisoned or fined for providing alcoholic beverages to any 
person under the age of 21. _______ (Initial) 

3. I understand that this permit must be displayed to any law enforcement officer upon request. _______   
     (Initial)         

 
 
 
 
 
__________________________________________________         ___________________________________________________   
                        (Purchaser’s Signature)                                                                  (Authorized Employee Signature) 
 

* Retailers are required to keep this permit on file for 90 days from the date of issue. 
At the written request of any individual, a retailer must retain the permit for a specified period of time beyond the 90 days but not longer 

than 180 days. 
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