Parents / Adults
In an age of cellular phones, instant messaging, satellite television and wireless internet, nothing beats a talk with your children. Parents are faced with the challenges of teaching their children on all aspects of life. Alcohol is just one of those necessary talks that parents need to have with their children. It’s never easy to get started, but we at the NCABC Commission would like to help. We have provided few things you and those under age 21 should know about Alcohol and North Carolina.
North Carolina laws on providing alcohol to underage persons
Some adults continue to provide alcohol to underage persons in North Carolina. North Carolina General Statue 18B-302, makes it a criminal offense to aid, abet, sell or give alcoholic beverages to anyone under the age of 21. Attempting to purchase alcohol under the age of 21 or by using a fake or altered identification document is a criminal offense.
A parent or other adults could be held responsible in civil court, under the DRAM SHOP laws, if underage persons are allowed to consume alcohol while under their supervision and/or provide, facilitate or aid underage persons in consuming alcohol resulting in death or serious injury. North Carolina laws allow damages up to $500,000.00
G.S. 18B-302 (a) Selling or Giving Alcohol to Persons Under 21
A violation of the statute is a Class 1 Misdemeanor. Conviction under this statute requires a mandatory fine of $250.00 and 25 hours of community service. A second conviction of this statute carries a mandatory fine of $500 and 150 hours of community service.
G.S. 18B-302 (b) Purchase or Possession of alcohol by persons less than 21 years old
A violation of the statute is a Class 1 Misdemeanor
G.S. 18B-302 (c)(2) Aiding or Abetting Persons Under 21 in Possessing or Purchasing Alcohol
A violation of the statute is a Class 1 Misdemeanor. Conviction under this statute requires a mandatory fine of $500 and 25 hours of community service. A second conviction of this statute carries a mandatory fine of $1000 and 150 hours of community service.
Costs for violations of under 21 purchases, aiding
and abetting and DWI under 21 may include:
- Attorney Fees
- Court Cost
- Community Service
- Possible Jail Time
- Insurance Premium Increase
- Likelihood of getting insurance coverage-decrease
- DWI Restoration Fee
- Driving Clinic
- Revocation/Suspended Drivers License