​Per House Bill 4, businesses subject to an order of closure under Executive Order 141 that want to request refunds for permit fees paid for the period of May 1, 2020 – April 30, 2021, need to request the refund from the ABC Commission in writing. Please reach out to contact@abc.nc.gov for next steps. NOTE: For businesses that have reopened, any refunded fees will need to be repaid within 90 days after all Executive Order restrictions on the permit holder's operations are lifted.

The temporary sale of mixed beverages to go, or for delivery, has been extended through 5pm on April 30, 2021. For more information please see Executive Order 205 and the FAQs found here. The ABC Commission's Delivery Service training can be found here

​The ABC Commission building is closed to the public but applications can be submitted in the locked drop-box outside. Please submit any questions or inquiries to contact@abc.nc.gov . If you have product approval applications, they can also be submitted electronically to contact@abc.nc.gov.

Search


Permitting


Sections


The North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage Control System


North Carolina has a three-tier system in place that requires the company wishing to sell products (tier 1) to sell and ship only to wholesalers (tier 2) who may sell only to retailers (tier 3). North Carolina’s ABC Laws are found in Chapter 18B of the NC General Statutes. The Commission’s Rules are found in Title 14B, Chapter 15 of the NC Administrative Code.

18,703
businesses with retail permits to sell alcohol for consumption on-premise (restaurants/clubs) and off-premise (grocery stores/convenience stores).
$22,998,308
collected from permit renewal and registration fees by the Commission last year, then distributed to the NCGA General Fund. (FY 2018)
6,332
permitted commercial businesses (breweries, wineries, distilleries, wholesalers).

Initiative to Reduce Underage Drinking


The Talk It Out NC multi-media campaign was launched in 2014 by the NC ABC Commission to combat underage drinking by undertaking relevant research, spreading education about alcohol’s health risks, and raising awareness about the resources available to families, both in person and online.

13,786
permit holders and their employees completed responsible alcohol seller/server training class last year.
25
statewide business partnerships have been formed to further the reach of Talk it Out NC campaign.
100
community outreach coalitions have joined the Initiative to help spread the Talk it Out NC message.

Reports


Forms